Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headlight harness

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2016, 09:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Headlight harness

Hi, new member, first time post. I apologize if this isn't the correct message board.

I always wanted an XJ, but never had one. Luckily for my 16 year old son, he wanted an XJ, so I got him one. I think I got a screaming deal too. It's a 92.

So anyway, I am not a mechanic by any means however I am not afraid to try simple things. The headlights are flickering. I have done the standard google research and learned that you can temporarily fix this with a, (described as harder than it looks) replacement of the switch. Or, a long term solution of replacing the wiring harness.

So here is my question. I've read a lot about the Putco harness featured here:
Amazon.com: Putco 230004HW Premium Automotive Lighting H4 100W Heavy Duty Wiring Harness and Relay: Automotive Amazon.com: Putco 230004HW Premium Automotive Lighting H4 100W Heavy Duty Wiring Harness and Relay: Automotive

But recently, read some threads that there is one on ebay that is not only cheaper, but has more reliable relays. I believe this is the one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-H4-Headl...RTFaJF&vxp=mtr

Anyway, I want to get this ordered this morning, so I can install it this weekend. Can anyone tell me which one to order? Or perhaps one I didn't list at all?

Thanks very much. Sorry if this is on the wrong board.
Old 05-17-2016, 09:53 AM

Actually this is the one I was wanting to get. Ships within the US so I can get it faster. What do you guys think?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CERAMIC-H4-H...9Trseb&vxp=mtr
Old 05-17-2016, 10:02 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 4.6 I6

Originally Posted by Kinch
Actually this is the one I was wanting to get. Ships within the US so I can get it faster. What do you guys think?