Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Head unit / amp question

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2014, 08:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Head unit / amp question

I picked up my 96 xj about 3 weeks ago, and now that I have the bigger issues out of the way for now, I want to get some tunes working in it. The last owner bought it from his neighbor who was moving, and he just parked it until he decided he wasn't going to get around to fixing it up. Owner #1 has moved away and owner #2 doesn't really now anything about it.

My problem is owner #1 put an after market JVC head unit in. Its a nice unit, but I can't get any sound from any of the speakers. My thought is that he had an amp hooked up to it, but took it when he sold the jeep to owner #2. I'm no expert in stereo wiring, but from what I can tell, it is hooked up correctly, but I can't even get any of the speakers to crackle with the old .9 volt battery trick. I suppose all the speakers could be bad, but that really seems unlikely to me. But if there were originally an amp hooked up with the head unit, I'm thinking I would have to splice those speaker leads that were run to it.

So my question is, where would you normally hide an amp in an XJ? I've checked under the back seat, under both front seats, and in the cargo area. I can't find anything. Guess I can always rip the carpet up to see where things are running, but was just wondering if there was a common place to hide an amp up under the dash or somewhere I'm not even thinking about.
Old 02-02-2014, 09:36 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.6L Stroker
Default Head unit / amp question