Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do the mods justify the price?

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2016, 09:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Do the mods justify the price?

Hey all-

I'm new to Jeep Cherokees and have been trying to get myself educated before taking a look at a 2000 4.0 5Spd 4x4 Sport that is for sale near me. I can read as much as I want, but I figure I may as well ask the opinion of some people who know more than I do.
$6000

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport.
4x4. Great runner.
Manual transmission.
201,835mi.
It was a reliable, dependable daily driver for my wife for the last 3 years.

4.0 litre HO
K&N air filter and throttle body riser
Magnaflow exhaust
NV3550 manual transmission
NP231 transfer case w/SYE
Tom Woods double Cardan drive Shafts front&back.
Electronic locking front differential
"Lunchbox" locking rear differential
4:10 ratio gears
33" BFG All Terrains T/A BRAND NEW!
Crager Soft-8 steel 16" rims gloss black powder coat
4.5 inch lift springs front and back
Long arm front suspension kit
RC steering link upgrade
Steering gearbox brace
Rock sliders
Steel fuel cell skid plate
Differential armor plate front and back
Tow hitch receiver front and back
I can tell a lot of work went into the trucks, and the pictures are thorough and everything LOOKS great, obviously I'll need to inspect and test drive. My main question is:

$6000 is a TALL price for any Jeep of this era, as far as I can tell, and with the higher mileage (I know these engines are capable of more) I cant really be sure that these mods offset the price so much that it could be worth 6 grand.

Would love your opinions, thank you!

Kevin
Old 11-20-2016, 09:29 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1990