Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dead Headlight Switch!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2012, 11:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Dead Headlight Switch!!!

That switch finally died, ya know that lovely little **** you pull and push for your headlights? Well it has been giving me some crap, it finally decided to quit. So it feels like when you pull it back it just is a loose stick. I can still turn it to the left to turn on the dome light. but no headlights. I can obviously pay the cash to get a new one. As a broke college student I am not inclined to do this however.

So who has any sweet ideas on what I could do to get around this? I have a switch that I mounted to my dash that is currently doing nothing. one is for the electric fan so i figure hey, Why not just have the lights go on a switch?

Looking into it now but I figured you guys would have some curious thoughts, suggestions, and general nonsense.
Old 04-29-2012, 02:50 AM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 l6

this might b dumb but i thought mine had died a while back and i flicked the hi beams on lights came on i turned them back to the lows and they started working by the reg pull **** again idk if i got lucky but im sure u already tryed this?
Old 04-29-2012, 04:32 AM

Default Correct me if I am wrong

Yeah so I have been tinkering around after a fair amount of reserach and I dug up a little bit of info.

First off I pulled the **** right out after trying to get it to catch on whatever it is that flips the switches that lie inside. So that is a large enough indicator for me that it truly is the switch and not some of the wires. So this is where the proverbial rabbit hole has started...

I was looking around on the web and I came across this link for a CJ wiring setup:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/he...wiring-885160/