Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Am I asking for too much? Is this normal Handleing???

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 07:50 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Am I asking for too much? Is this normal Handleing???

I have been trying to "tweak" my newly lifted XJ. He are the facts:

1. This is my first 4x4, lifted vehicle, and Jeep

2. I am mechanically inclined (did the lift by my self, with a jack, jackstands, airtools, and beer, and 3-4 days. I've done my timing belt service on my old Lexus V8, intank fuel pumps, complete control arms bushing swaps (PITA) on the Lexus. I'm no pro, but learn quick.

3. I have NOTHING to reference my XJ's ride to, other than other full size trucks I've driven (My old Lightning, Duramax Diesel's, etc...)

Around town, this thing handles fairly well. No real major gripes. It does seem that when I hit small bumps in the road, I rock back left to right, kind of a very slight sway motion. Nothing major, but feels weird. Don't know if it is because the RC's ride ROUGH, and it's really normal or what.

I did the RC lift, AAL/Bastard pack hybrid rear, coil(3.5" and puck spacer) front. New RC trackbar with drop bracket, control arm drop brackets (could afford LA at the time), X-flex upper and lower control arms, RC sway bar disco's, RC shocks, New Moog drag link, tie rod ends, RC dropped pitman arm, billet shims for the rear axle(pinion angle).

On the highway, my handling seems to really be affected by the wind. It's just that the wind moves the jeep around like it's a Geo Metro or something. Also, I have to really consciously counter steer to keep her straight. Maybe it's too sensitive.

I have had three different alignments, three different shops. My castor is at 6 degree's positive. Toe in around 3/16 or 1/8 I believe.