Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 XJ Lift Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2015, 10:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 96 XJ Lift Advice

I have a stock 1996 Cherokee Sport (white) and I was hit by a *lets just say not so smart* teenager in my high school parking lot. And yes, I am a high schooler as well, but I like to say I'm a much better driver than most teenagers. Anyway, it looks like it is turning out for the better, because the insurance company is giving us a set amount for the car to be totaled, but we are getting it fixed at a small, friend owned repair shop for pretty cheap. So I should come out with about $1500 to spend on my XJ.

I am looking for a 3" lift + 31" tires and wheels.

I have been looking at the following 3" kits and was wondering if anyone has any advice for one brand over the other:
http://www.roughcountry.com/jeep-sus...t-kit-630.html
http://www.quadratec.com/products/76017_8110_07.htm
http://zoneoffroad.com/zone-offroad-...erokee/j21-j22
http://www.rustysoffroad.com/jeep-su...-pack-kit.html
I have heard Rough Country is a pretty "rough" ride, so I'm leaning toward one of the other ones, and it probably won't even make a difference, I just want to hear if anyone has a preference or one to stay away from.

I have also heard that to ensure a stable ride, a transfer case lowering kit and an adj track bar are pretty much required, and front brake lines and front extended sway bar links are sometimes needed, sometimes not, just depending on the Jeep. But I have also read that it kinda depends on a Jeep to Jeep basis, so I'll probably just end up putting in the 3" lift, then test driving, and going from there.