XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Parts + What works?

Old 02-10-2011, 09:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.oL
Default Parts + What works?

Hey I'm new to the Jeep world and wanted to ask you all this question. How compatible are Jeep parts with one another? Such as will parts from a 98 xj fit an 01 xj? There are a few at a junk yard near by, but I don't want to go rip parts off if they are not going to fit. Such as a rear bumper or something similar. I need a rear tow hitch my jeep didn't come with one so I wanted to unbolt one from the junk yard and put it on myself, but if it wont fit, then I don't want to waste my time or money.

Thanks.

If this has been asked somewhere else I apologize, I searched but didn't find anything.
Old 02-10-2011, 09:40 PM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0l high output

Your good to go. Pretty much everything(except some interior and tailights and hatch) are all swapable from 84-01.
Old 02-10-2011, 09:54 PM

Default sweet

fantastic. Thanks for the quick reply. I bought the haynes repair manual and assumed it was all basically interchangeable since the years on the manual is good from 84-01. I'm a happy man right now. Now its time to learn more about tire sizes
Old 02-10-2011, 10:02 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 ho

thats y i love xjs,they are mostly all interchangeable parts
Old 02-11-2011, 12:01 AM

Originally Posted by Davicl81
Hey I'm new to the Jeep world and wanted to ask you all this question. How compatible are Jeep parts with one another? Such as will parts from a 98 xj fit an 01 xj? There are a few at a junk yard near by, but I don't want to go rip parts off if they are not going to fit. Such as a rear bumper or something similar. I need a rear tow hitch my jeep didn't come with one so I wanted to unbolt one from the junk yard and put it on myself, but if it wont fit, then I don't want to waste my time or money.

Thanks.