Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

i did it... got the 98 cherokee sport

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2015, 08:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default i did it... got the 98 cherokee sport

Hey guys well, from past forms I decided to go with the 98 cherokee; i guess XJ model? not sure

anyhow, engine sounds very strong and seems healthy and so does the transmission. I would like to make this vehicle a rock crawler / daily driver. Is that possible? My budget on this build is about $8,000 So, what is it you guys recommend. I am a complete newbie when it comes to jeeps, so have some patience lol

However, the 4x4 high I hear some kind of clunking / grinding noise when turning or reversing and also seems a bit tough to reverse when 4 x 4 is engaged; seems like I have to hit the accelerator a bit more for it to move. again, not sure if this is normal for a 98; Hard to tell. But when I go on the high way on 4 x 4 around 30 + it drives fine and I hear nothing.
Old 07-07-2015, 09:55 AM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: 4.0
Default i did it... got the 98 cherokee sport

Every cherokee is an XJ. I'd check to see what transfer case you have before driving on dry pavement in 4x4 again. 242 can be engaged on the road and the 231 is meant for slick surfaces. There's threads on here that will show you how to figure out which one you have.

My best advice is to read as many threads on here as you possibly can. Start with the stickies. Before I got my cherokee I read thread after thread about them around an hour a day for a year or so (Crazy, I know haha... but there's a reason behind it)

Congrats on the new jeep! And addiction...
Old 07-07-2015, 10:22 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Congrats! 8k is a huge budget! Lucky. Start with lift, tires and lockers. Then go from there. I'm sure others will say different, but it's a good starting point.
Old 07-07-2015, 11:35 AM
CF Veteran