Old 10-27-2012, 06:04 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default Gearing down when stopping

Question for all you manual shifters...

When approaching a stop I usually leave it in gear until it drops to 1000 RPM or less, or until it lugs if I'm not paying attention, unless it's running down a hill and I downshift or I can feel the engine keeping me from stopping.

I read in some thread a while back this guy who wrote that his wife took the Jeep out of gear (into neutral) "dangerously early". What does this mean?
Old 10-27-2012, 06:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Shouldn't really coast in a manual, ever.
Old 10-27-2012, 06:25 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Engine: Straight 6

If you coast in a manual (I am NOT an expert) you apparently run the risk of damaging syncros (spelling?). Also if your plates are sticky it causes premature wear as if driving half-clutched. If I coast down a hill on my motorcycle in neutral, it SLAMS back into gear afterward. It literally feels like the transmission is trying to escape in that moment lol. That feeling is apparently from the plates sticking and finally breaking free only after being forced. I also always suggest engine braking whenever possible. That way you're not over-using neutral and putting your plates and syncros at risk. Plus you're saving wear on your brakes!

Just never forget that engine braking does NOT illuminate your brake lights! Always at least feather your break pedal to alert those behind you of the slow down.
Old 10-27-2012, 06:27 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1994
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Engine: Straight 6

And your practice of only pulling out of gear at 1K RPMs or when it starts to lug is in my opinion exactly what you should be doing.
Old 10-27-2012, 07:26 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Originally Posted by mr white
Shouldn't really coast in a manual, ever.