Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Deathwobble and Wheel Spacers Don't Mix!

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2010, 03:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1984
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Chevy 2.8L V6
Default Deathwobble and Wheel Spacers Don't Mix!

Hey, thought I'd relate the final moments of my one of my poor Cherokees...

I had a deathwobble from adding a lift, which I could fix at an alignment shop...if there were any alignment shops in my town, or if my town was connected to the national highway system (rural Alaska, great for jeeps in every other respect!), and also the bigger tires meant I couldn't turn very well. So I just ignored the deathwobble and added rim spacers to make it so I could turn in a timely fashion. Oh, and I'm a college student, so I bought the cheapest rim spacers. All three are big mistakes.

I was driving around midnight a week ago, all over town at about 45, ignoring the deathwobble and listening to Motörhead's Inferno (why is it always Motörhead when I do something stupid?), when all of a sudden the front end of the jeep shot down. I though I had violently punctured a tire, I've done that in street machines before, but then I saw the wheel shoot up in front of me, about ten feet high up and twenty feet ahead, the rim yellow-hot. I expected to lose control, but I kept control. Strangely, the brakes didn't work, so I ground to a halt about a thousand feet down the road. Also, very luckily, I was right by my house. So I walked back, got in one of my other cars, and drove down to look at the jeep. The rotor was gone, the joint was busted so that everything wheel-side was held on by the spindle, the bottom pivot of which was ripped off, the shock was pulled in two (new shocks, came with the lift) and the anti-sway bar was busted at both bushings and once in the middle.