Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1st Cherokee purchase. Buy it stock or already setup for offroading?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2011, 12:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1st Cherokee purchase. Buy it stock or already setup for offroading?

Hello everyone. I will soon be purchasing my first Jeep Cherokee XJ. I want to use as it as a daily driver, but also take it on some Arizona trails on the weekends. I probably won't be doing any hardcore rock-crawling with it. I drive on offroad desert trails all the time in work trucks. However, I'm new to jeeps and the offroading hobby scene - and I don't have much experience working on vehicles.

I want to know if you guys think it's better to buy a stock Cherokee and pay to have it modified, or to buy one already modified.

My dilemma is, a Cherokee already setup for offroading will be ready to go the day I buy it, and will cost a lot less than if I buy a stock Cherokee and pay to have all those mods done myself. However, it'd be more beat-up, and therefore more prone to breakage and less reliable as a daily driver.

On the other side, if I buy somebody's well-taken-care-of stock Cherokee that hasn't seen many trails, then It will cost me a lot more time and money to get it setup for offroading (lift, bigger tires, skid plates, roof rack, better suspension?... etc) than if I buy one already setup like that from the beginning...

Thank you in advance for your input.
Old 02-08-2011, 12:48 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: l6 4.0, K&N FIPK & 62mm bored TB