Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

My fabricated winch bumper

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2011, 10:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My fabricated winch bumper

First I would like to give credit to whoever posted the Google Sketch Up drawings for this bumper, I am a fabricator/machinist by trade, so I know that a good design is what a good build starts from! I found some drawings of this bumper online that had all of the plates dimensioned in the flat and emailed them to my buddy who is a design engineer and very proficient in Solid Edge 3D modeling software. He drew up everything so it would be compatible with the 4000 watt Amada laser that employees of our shop have access to (off the clock of course) Once the G codes were all written for the laser, it was just a matter of having my other buddy who runs 2nd shift cut it out for me. Keep in mind that this bumper is made from a piece of 1/4" thick 48"x40" mill plate. This material is a much cleaner alloy that welds with better penetration than standard HRPO (Hot Roll Pickled in Oil). This $800,000 laser cut all of these pieces out in less than 4 min.! with accuracy of +/- .003". Now is where I got my 3rd buddy involved who is an awesome welder by trade. The shop I work for is a small group of people who share their skills with each other, I'm the machinist of the group. Below you will see pictures of the initial build, it still does not have the recovery lugs for the D rings, the winch mounting plate, or the bumper mounting brackets. Oh ya, did I mention we also got a powder coat line! The powder coat will have to wait until we paint some parts that are the color I want, then my friend Chris will hang it on the line and paint it "Black Jack" for me. This color is a flat black that is textured like a spray on bed liner. After I purchase my new 8,500 lb winch and install it on my ZJ, ill post more pics.