Tire Carrier Bumper Budget Build

Old 02-19-2009, 03:07 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Tire Carrier Bumper Budget Build

i have an 85 cherokee chief with a stock tire carrier and couldnt figure out how to rip it off and put it on my new jeep without ruining it. i looked around and found that it would cost me about 1000 bucks to buy one, as a college student i dont have that much to spend on a bumper so i decided to build one myself.

I started out with some metal from the steel yard
64 inches of 6x3 square tubing .120 wall
20 ft of 2x2 square .120 wall (i got way too much probably only need about 12-15 feet)
2 ft of 1.75" round .120 wall
1 ft of 2" round .120 wall
6" of 3/4" square .120 wall
2ft of 6" wide flat steel .120 wall as well

all this cost me right at 100 dollars so already i am saving 900 bucks.

(you wont use all of this but its better to have left overs then to have to make multiple trips)

so i took the 6x3 peice and simply cut about a 35 degree angle on both ends to give it a more finished look... feel free to use what ever angle you want i liked this better then straight up and down

i cut a 8 inch peice of 2" round tubing and a 14 inch piece of 1.75" round, this is for the swinging portion of the carrier

i cut a foot of the 2x2 square and notched the one end to attach to the 2" round tube for the swinging part and put a 15 degree angle on the other. (i did this to kick the tire carrier portion out away from the bumper when it is closed you can go straight across if you want,its up to you) and a straight cut of 30 inches to be welded to the angled side of the other peice

then i cut 3 sections of 2 ft of the 2x2, i left one of the pieces straight on both ends and the other two i put 45 degrees angles on both. the straight is for the center brace and the angled sides for the two legs of the carrier portion.

i cut two sections of 12 inch 2x2 for the attaching brackets