Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Suggestions, ideas for 96 ZJ

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2011, 04:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L 242 I6
Default Suggestions, ideas for 96 ZJ

Hey guys, I'm new to CF and glad to see some experienced Jeepsters . I'm curious as to see what y'all think a good mod for this youngin' is. it's a 1996 Jeep ZJ Laredo. She's been babied most of her life, and my pops gave it to me. I have an old light rack im modifying that came off of a Wrangler to somehow fit onto the stock sliders on the roof rack. They're KC HID's. I am on a slight budget, as a college student and part time employee of Advance Auto Parts. However I've got a plethora of great people to help me out. So far All I've done is thrown some 31 x 10.5's x 15's on it. Baja Champs, no less. Suggestions on a budget would be amazing. Thanks in advance y'all, have a good one!

-Mmetz
Old 05-11-2011, 04:12 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 2004
Engine: 4.7L V8

Welcome to CF.
You need to get a budget boost to give those 31" tires a little more room.
Old 05-11-2011, 04:15 PM

Originally Posted by ol"blue
Welcome to CF.
You need to get a budget boost to give those 31" tires a little more room.
Too true. I was thinking about just doing some spacers between the coils, since it is on a budget and the cheapest lift is mighty expensive. bonus, 20% discount on items through AAP, which does include 3rd party lift kits. ( I think rock Krawler?) I know better than to go rough country. The 31's on the front give me a little tire rub on the lower control arms, but nothing too bad unless i really crank it.
Old 05-11-2011, 05:07 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter

Shop around and you'll find a spacer lift for less than a hundred bucks.