Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Should i avoid this Jeep ? Buying q's

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2010, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Should i avoid this Jeep ? Buying q's

I've been looking at Jeeps for a few months now and there is like nothing in my area thats not way overpriced or way Junk yard ready. Basicly i want a 96-98 grand cherokee, 93-95 is to Cherokee style ugly when it comes to the inside. The 99-04's are usually all around like 4-5k+ which is beyond my budget.

I found a 97 Grand cherokee Inline 6 select trac today, but its rejected for property tax stickers because the exhaust needs replaced i think, and the suspension.. The auto auction doesnt know exactly whats wrong with the suspension but from what i saw it doesnt look major as the springs look ok and so do the other parts.. Altho im not a expert..

The engine started up fine but there is a ticking or sqeaking noise maybe both.. I cant narrow it down but it could be the belt or the engine i dunno.. It goes away after slight gas is given.. There is no knocking or anything.

The major thing tho im worried about is the transmission fluid on the dipstick looked dark/brown like the color of used engine oil. It smelt a little burnt too.. Im going to test drive it tomarow because it was running on fumes today..

Should i just completetly ignore this car because of the transmission fluid condition ? Or give it a try anyway ? It has 190k miles and they are asking $1900.. I think i can chew em down to like $1600 or so probably. From what ive looked at online tranny fluid like this means major problems... My mom's tho 6 years ago was a dark color and wouldnt shift anymore... A flushed and change and its still running 70k miles later..