Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Questions on lifting '96 Grand Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 07:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Questions on lifting '96 Grand Cherokee

Hi Everyone,
New to this forum thing but thought I would give it a shot. I have been jeep'n for several years and have lot's of experience with builds, but they have always been leaf sprung.
Now I have an opportunity to build a '96 gc from stock. I want it to be on road capable/legal, but primarily built for rock crawling. I am thinking minimum 35" tires, maybe up to 37". I don't mind cutting up the body. I am assuming I need to upgrade to a dana 44 up front? Also, it is currently a "quadratrac" model transfer case, thinking about scraping that? How much lift will I need and which are some of the better over the counter brands. I also don't mind mixing and matching junk yard springs to get the lift I need, just have no experience at all with coils and links.
Thanks for any feedback.
Old 05-01-2010, 02:31 PM
Seasoned Member

Originally Posted by jeepn'nc
Hi Everyone,
New to this forum thing but thought I would give it a shot. I have been jeep'n for several years and have lot's of experience with builds, but they have always been leaf sprung.
Now I have an opportunity to build a '96 gc from stock. I want it to be on road capable/legal, but primarily built for rock crawling. I am thinking minimum 35" tires, maybe up to 37". I don't mind cutting up the body. I am assuming I need to upgrade to a dana 44 up front? Also, it is currently a "quadratrac" model transfer case, thinking about scraping that? How much lift will I need and which are some of the better over the counter brands. I also don't mind mixing and matching junk yard springs to get the lift I need, just have no experience at all with coils and links.
Thanks for any feedback.