Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

overheating issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2019, 09:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Default overheating issue

I'm new to the jeep community, just bought a 1998 Grand Cherokee this last weekend. Haven't had any issues other than the digital display at bottom flashing, though I think I've gotten that fixed now. Had to take a small trip after work yesterday and drove for an hour and a half straight, no issues. This morning I let it warm up for 15-20 minutes before I got on the road headed to work. After driving for about 10 minutes the "check gauges" light came on, so I quickly checked the gauges. Temp was pegged out, battery was at 0. I slowed down a lot at this point and temps started to drop a little. I figured since it was 2 degrees outside, the air would keep it cool enough to finish driving to work slowly. Started making a bit of slight knocking/tapping noise in which I ended up pulling off on the side of the road. When I came to a stop and then let go of the brake, I realised the engine had died. I sat to let it cool down, once it got close to the mid mark on the gauge I tried to start it, but just got a "whirring" noise of sorts. I had someone coming to pick me up and just before they got there I had gotten the engine to start by giving it gas as I turned the key. A notice "low coolant" was on the bottom display yesterday, but I forgot to do anything about it. Had my girlfriend buy some coolant and pick me up from work today. I poured the entire bottle in, didn't see any leaks dropping out and decided to try and drive it home. Ended up running at the 3/4 mark on temp gauge the entire trip. When I got home steam was blowing hard from the radiator hose on the driver side top of the radiator. I'm hoping I can push the hose on better and tighten the clamp down and issue