Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Just bought a 95 Limited, and it's already broke down

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2010, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2L
Default Just bought a 95 Limited, and it's already broke down

This is my first post here, and I'm already in desperate need of help!!

I just purchased a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Limited with the 5.2 V8. Upon driving it home, about 2 miles from my house I came to a stop and smelled the nasty burned diff fluid smell. So I baby it a little further since I'm almost home but about 1/2 mile from my house the diff starts making some horrible grinding noises.

It made it to my house going really slow with hazard lights on.

I am a mechanic by trade, but a diesel mechanic not an automotive mechanic so I need some guidance here.

The rear diff was smoking hot. The only thing that makes sense to me is that the rear diff was low on fluid when I bought it tonight and the highway trip home pretty much overheated it and caused it to shell.

The front diff was really hot to the touch as well (heard my wet finger sizzle when I touched it). Is this normal after a 50 mile highway trip? Where should I start on diagnosing to make sure it's just the rear diff and not more than that?

I did test drive the Jeep before I bought it and it did great. No strange noises and I tested out the low range as well, it worked fine too. Please help!!!!!
Old 02-05-2010, 03:11 AM

Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 6 slappin' cylinders

I heard something about transfer case issues that cause the rears to basically fight eachother. The rears get super hot. I'd try to go through all the ranges on the transfer case and see what happens...Sadly, you'll probably need all new axle seals if both rears got that hot...goodluck.
Old 02-05-2010, 06:23 AM

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L I6