Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

High Speed Vibration

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2015, 03:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 HO
Default High Speed Vibration

I'm new to this - so bear with me!
I have a 2004 Grand Cherokee Overland with a high speed vibration (75+) that is present on both acceleration and floating the gas. Bad enough that the rear view mirror actually shakes so bad I can't tell who is behind me. I also have a high speed hum that gets higher the faster I go. When I remove the front drive shaft - the sound is there, but the vibration is much less; still there, but very minor.
What I have done: new front axles, new tires, balance / rotate wheels and tires, changed both diff fluids, replaced pinion and carrier bearings (front only), replaced all u-joints (front and rear drive shaft), put in a new (used) front drive shaft (no real change between drive shafts), replaced transfer case with a used LKQ case - fixed the 4-wheel drive problem, but not the vibration and noise. When letting off the gas, the hum does become louder.
No metal flakes in either differential fluids during change - no pitting on the gears noted. I'm at a loss as to the next direction to go. Jeep dealer wants around $2,500 to replace front differential and rebuild transfer case - but I can't justify spending that kind of money on something that I have just done.

Next step?

Thanks,
Shane
Old 03-30-2015, 03:26 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Ball joints? Wheel bearings?
Old 03-30-2015, 04:00 AM