Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Fuse 8

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2011, 03:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Question Fuse 8

Newbie here.
I just purchased a 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The Overhead Console, power locks and VIC are not working. I figured it has something to do with fuse 8. The fuse is good. I even put in a new one. If I remove the fuse and check for 12v at the contacts for the fuse I get nothing with the key off and in all positions.
Can someone tell me where fuse 8 gets its power. I pulled the glovebox and dash top and looked at the rear of the panel and don't see anything odd. I tried to track the red/white wire to fuse 8 and it is in a large group of wires and can't see where it comes out.
Any HELP would be appreciated.
Old 05-09-2011, 09:25 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7L V8

Welcome to CF.
Look at the bottom of the first dia. It shows you that fuse #8 (in the PDC) gets power from circuit A11, which comes from the gen. (alt.), which you will see in the second dia. I hope it's helpful.

Old 05-10-2011, 06:37 AM

Thank you ol"blue. I found the fuse labeled I.O.D in the fuse box in the engine compartment was blown. It was the only fuse in that box that didn't say what it really for, just initials. I still don't know what i.o.d. means. I'll have to look it up.

Thanks again.
Old 05-10-2011, 09:07 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7L V8

Originally Posted by 6coupe4
Thank you ol"blue. I found the fuse labeled I.O.D in the fuse box in the engine compartment was blown. It was the only fuse in that box that didn't say what it really for, just initials. I still don't know what i.o.d. means. I'll have to look it up.

Thanks again.