Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 05:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country

Figured I'd make a build thread rather than continuing to update my thread in the OEM tech section.

Just bought my first Jeep. 1997 Cherokee Country, 243,xxx miles. I fell in love with the interior of these Jeeps back when a buddy of mine got an 04' Wrangler Unlimited. Originally I had no plans to modify this Jeep at all. I was going to drive it for a year or so then sell it once I graduated college. My plans changed once I realized the guy who I bought the jeep from screwed me over.

https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/jus...-miles-185391/

Anyway, I'll just update this thread from now on. I am currently waiting for a tow truck to come pick up the XJ to drop it off to North GA Automotive so they can swap the motor for me. The motor they're putting in has 7x,xxx miles on it and I should have it back within a week.

I imagine that the transmission will be the next thing to go out. I plan on getting a trans cooler to try to extend the life as much as possible.

When the transmission finally does go out...I plan to convert the Jeep to 4WD if time and money permits.

I've already got some things ordered.

Whenever I order/receive/install a part I'll more than likely do an in depth review in this thread complete with plenty of pictures.

For having 243,177 miles the body and interior are in surprisingly good condition.

Here it is as it currently sits.

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-cibrrc2.jpg

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-hsc2xk1.jpg

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-qxypptv.jpg

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-tl3fgmp.jpg

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-toleayz.jpg

lashonda : 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country-s0vx6sk.jpg