Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

i'm a newb and i need help!!

Old 04-04-2010, 09:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default i'm a newb and i need help!!

so i had a piece of crap jeep quite a few years ago but still fell in love. i'm looking to buy a jeep but i have no idea where to start. i know that i want the older looking cherokee but whether i go for a 1990 or 1997 i don't know.
right now on craigslist here in alaska there is a 1990 cherokee4 door, 5 speed manual, not sure on engine size. for 300 bucks, the engine is blown, so... i have minimal experience actually working on vehichles but i am very mechanically inclined and understand pretty well the terminology and the way engines work, give me a manual with pics and i can do pretty much any thing. however i also have minimal tools. is this a good deal? should i buy the cheap jeep and buy a new engine and drop it in or should i buy something already running. also i'm worried that if i buy a jeep with 80-100k it's gonna blow and i'll have to replace it any way. my budget is somewhat limited but there's a little wiggle room and the wife is somewhat on board. any advice is much appreciated. there are a ton of jeeps in ak, if this is not a good choice what should i look for in a good deal. and if the engine was cared for how many miles are a lot on a 4.0 6 cyl engine. my old jeep was a manual, 2 wheel dr with 188k and it barely burned oil. any way i'm rambling now. thanks in advance for any replys.
Old 04-04-2010, 10:07 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Buy the one with a blown motor and DIY. Nothing beats doing the work yourself...seriously.
Old 04-04-2010, 10:14 PM