Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Damsel in distress...help with 1987 Cherokee Laredo

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 12:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Question Damsel in distress...help with 1987 Cherokee Laredo

I am totally new to this, so please forgive any terminology I'm not familiar with. I'll try to include as much info as I can.

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo Sport *2WD
Mileage: 140k
Engine: 6 Cylinders M 4.0L MFI OHV

Recent repairs: power steering pump and hose replacement
Ignition switch replacement
Master cylinder replacement

Problem: Car randomly won't start...it's not the battery, alternator or starter. It will normally start the next day after sitting all night or after a few hours but drive it to the store and it won't start again. It may start up after a few pumps of gas on the pedal but not likely. I've taken it to the shop and they couldn't diagnose bc the electrical system(check engine light and half of dashboard isn't working) The car just randomly started doing this out of nowhere. Please help bc I'm fresh out options I'm continuing to put more money into things to no avail.
All advice is welcomed and appreciated 😊
Old 04-25-2017, 02:42 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L

When you say it randomly won't start, exactly what is happening? When you turn the key, does the engine crank but won't start? Or nothing at all happens when you turn the key?
Old 04-25-2017, 05:23 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II

Welcome to Cherokee Forum! We hope to help all in distress, damsel or otherwise.

Your year of Cherokee was the very first for a lot of things, factory documentation was poor and many shops have NO idea how to work with them. For example, it doesn't even have a check engine light.