Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Backcountry Exploration Build

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2011, 01:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Default Backcountry Exploration Build

I'm completely new to Cherokees and just picked up a super clean 1998 Classic with only 75k on the odo. So I've only had a little time to come up with my build plan. I want your comments/suggestions!

This will be my camping, backcountry exploration truck. It will take me to the Maze District in Canyonlands soon. It will also be my weekend canoe/dirt-bike hauler. My go-to vehicle when the snow's flying. I want to make it more capable without going too big.

Here's my plan:

Near-term:
OME HD Suspension from Rocky Road Outfitters.
Some decent tires - I'm leaning toward stock dimensions . . .
Class III Receiver hitch.
Bumpers - roxolidtrailarmor looks kinda like what I'm leaning toward, but I do need somewhere to put a full-size spare (not on the roof or in the cab).
Viar compressor under the hood.
Storage box or shelf of some sort.

Mid-term:
Dual ARBs

What am I missing? I'm looking for reliability and durability without sacrificing fuel economy.

Thanks!
Old 08-11-2011, 02:09 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L 6-Cylinder

Sounds like me and you have similar plans. You should check out my build thread as I just installed an 2" OME suspension lift. I've heard horror stories with Rocky Road Outfitters. You should look into JeepinOutfitters.com or DPGoffroad. I've heard nothing but good about them. As for me, I ordered mine from mine from 4WD.com. The only reason why I went with 4WD was because I got a complete kit (Leaf springs, Coils, Shocks, T-Case Drop, U-Bolts, and Bushings) with 5% off and free shipping, which essentially saved me $135 total.