Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0 ls xj build!

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2017, 11:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 6.0 ls xj build!

So I recently purchased a 2005 lq4 engine with wiring harness and a 4l60e trans. Last week I got my first xj! It's a 2001 sport with 161k miles on it. Absolutely no rust which is very rare for Iowa! Interior is in perfect condition except for the headliner will need replaced. There are some body dings and dents but I will address those later. I currently drive a 2003 wj limited with the 4.7ho so I'm not new to jeeps. I decided to do this swap to replace my wj once the xj is complete. I've never done an engine swap before but I've always been good with engines and enjoy a challenge. I have access to a large welding shop where most of the swap will take place. I will be fabricating some parts but mostly using Novak and advanced Adapters parts for simplicity and time.

I am currently rebuilding the lq4 engine just to have a fresh start. Owner said it has 150k miles but who knows. I will be using an ls6 cam and springs, ls1 intake manifold, ls1 water pump, lq9 flat top pistons to bump up the compression, and have already reworked the wiring harness to standalone with a few things left to do. The 4l60e will be stock for now.
​​​​​