Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1995 XJ build... Newbie here!

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2013, 09:43 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default 1995 XJ build... Newbie here!

I've been driving a 2010 Nissan Versa for the last month... You have to floor it to get up a hill. I never want to deal with that again, so I've decided that when I get my jeep tagged and insured, a few mods will be in order. I'm not looking to build a stump-puller, just to get a nicer throttle response and a little extra torque.

I should add that my Jeep's a '95 Cherokee 2WD 4DR with an automatic. I know, probably the least desirable model for that year, but it was free, it only has 107K miles on it, and I like it.

Mods I'm looking at, with links to the parts:
-Larger (200cc per minute, probably) fuel injectors from a Dodge Neon.
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...193&cmd=VISPEC
-A bored out (63mm) throttle body.
http://strokedjeep.com/tbody.html
-A header.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/ATP-101212
-2.5" exhaust pipes.
From a muffler shop -- I can't find a 2.125 inlet to 2.5 outlet piece.
-A glasspack muffler, or some other free-flowing muffler.
http://summitracing.com/parts/imm-87522
-New single-prong iridium spark plugs (same reach and thread size as stock).
http://summitracing.com/parts/ngk-2669
-10mm spark plug wires.
http://summitracing.com/parts/dui-c9087rd
-A cold-air intake kit and better filter.
http://summitracing.com/parts/spe-9948

Should run me a fair amount, but I'll do it gradually... I think the fuel injectors will be the first upgrade, then the throttle body and cold-air intake/air filter kit... Then the exhaust system, then the ignition system.
When I'm done, it should be much more responsive as far as the throttle goes, right? I should also see (slightly) better fuel mileage too, shouldn't I?