Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'01 jeep build - Provo, UT

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 06:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default '00 jeep build - Provo, UT

I bought this jeep about a month ago, and I'd like to start a thread to get some advice and help with technical issues. I'll probably ask a lot of questions because I'm new to jeeps, cherokees, and the off-road world.

Specs -

2000 Jeep cherokee sport
AW4 tranny
C8.25 rear, D30 front
150K miles
3" rough country lift with control arms and new leafs
31" tires on stock 15" wheels

Plans for the future -

NV3550 swap
adding a few factory options (leather seats, fog lights) and a decent stereo
Dent and paint repair
265/75r16 tires
16" ATX Mojave teflon wheels
detroit truetrac LSD front and rear
either a stroker or a GM L33 aluminum 5.3L swap

My goal is to build a daily driven Cherokee that gets fairly good gas mileage, is capable on rough trails (no rock crawling), and is pretty fast (mid 14's), limited by the unibody, transmission, etc.

Unibody - how much power can the unibody handle, stock? With unibody reinforcement? With a cage, or other reinforcement? suggestions?

I'm running on a grad student budget. I donate plasma for mods, which gets me ~$55/week. I'm also going to spend some money on creature comforts like a new stereo, leather seats, etc. These mods are a long ways off, and I owe about $700 on, well, the cruise control, overhead console, and lift (priorities!) that I bought already

O yeah, before I forget!

soon after I lifted it.

edit - i made a few changes. i think an NV3550 is a better choice than the NSG370, so i'm saving up for that instead. Also, i forgot that it's a 2000 and not a 2001. I used to have an '01 honda accord and I think i got confused.

Last edited by Jallen9; 01-21-2012 at 02:15 PM.
Old 10-06-2011, 07:25 PM