Mid Atlantic West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina

Help in Greensboro!

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2014, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help in Greensboro!

I just got my first jeep it's a beauty but needs some work anybody in Greensboro know where to get a new headliner installed and a paint job for a decent price.. I'm a college student so I don't have much money to work with!
Old 12-17-2014, 08:18 AM
Beach Bum

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Year: 2000 WJ
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Hi,
Have you considered re-covering the headliner yourself? Almost all of us have had to do it due to sagging cloth.
Material can be found at a fabric shop. Ideally a material that has a thin foam backing, this will help provide a even finished surface.
It is an all day job, the plastic and metal trim around headliner will need to be removed.
I used a vinyl headliner, installed with two cans of spray-glue made for headliners. Regular fabric spray-glue will not be able to take the heat of summer.

As for a paintjob, you will have to keep asking around. One paint issue we have with Cherokees is the hood. If there is not an insulation blanket on the underside of hood, the heat from engine bakes paint repeatedly and the clear-coat peels off, then the paint.
If you would like assistance finding a write-up for DIY headliner, let me know. I search like this; 'cherokee xj headliner replacement' then look for forum hits in the results. I always use 'xj' in the title, otherwise most of the results are store sites.
Attached Thumbnails Help in Greensboro!-dsc01762.jpg   Help in Greensboro!-dsc01764.jpg  
Old 12-18-2014, 08:22 AM

Thank you for your advice! I have thought about doing the headliner myself I was just a little wary of doing it because I didn't want to mess it up but I may end up trying to do it! And yes the hood is where my paint is coming off and I will try doing that!
Old 12-19-2014, 09:18 PM

Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee