Myriad Minor Fixes Aid in Nashville, TN aka "Need a Jeep Mentor"

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 05:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I6 4.0
Default Myriad Minor Fixes Aid in Nashville, TN aka "Need a Jeep Mentor"

So, yeah, I need a Jeep mentor. As you all are probably well aware by now, I'm a rookie when it comes to auto repairs. But I want to become self sufficient and get as much life out of my '97 XJ Country as possible.

Over the years I have acquired (like probably all of you) a number of wee and not-so-wee issues with my Jeep and what I'm hoping is that there are some enthusiasts online who may live in Nashville/Franklin/Brentwood who would be up for guiding me through repairs, which include the following:

CIL (coded as P0705, so probably an NSS cleaning or replacing);
Power Windows control switch fix (driver's side controls all windows but individual windows can't be rolled up/down by passengers);
Replace driver side door speaker;
Replace steering wheel;
Replacement LR fender flare;
Steam clean engine;
Sea Foam the thing (never been done, eager to try);
Keyless Entry programming (still have the remote but it won't communicate);
and figuring out whether or not the black mesh filter coming out of my air vents is a problem that needs replacing or just cleaning.

Some I could figure out on my own but experience has taught me not to do this stuff unsupervised since this has been my daily driver for almost 10 years. Of course I'd pay anyone for their time/troubles, but with it being Christmas time and $$$ tight as it is, I could probably save money acquiring the parts and having someone far more knowledgeable offer a helping hand--hopefully someone who enjoys this sort of thing. My family has always taken their cars to shops for repairs/oil/tires/etc. but that's too expensive for me and I don't like not knowing how to fix my own stuff.