Pacific Northwest Washington, Oregon, Alaska

walker valley trail suggestions for newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2015, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 inline 6cyl W/ UPGRADE BOSH INJECTORS AND BORED THROTLE BODY
Default walker valley trail suggestions for newbie?

ok so I finally got my rig ready to hit some trails so I am planning a trip to walker this Saturday. this is my first time at walker and first time with this xj. 4.5" lift 32"tires aussie locker up front napier flares and swaybar disco's I have a front bumper with D rings and recovery points in the rear I DO NOT HAVE A WINCH!!!! i am looking for suggested trails to test the jeep, nothing real crazy any help would be great, i have the WV map but it doesn't show difficulty of the trails any help will be great
Old 05-29-2015, 06:38 AM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

you should be ok with most of the trails the one that i would avoid if no winch i think is called rons run the rest of the trails i never needed my winch but for a cheap option for just incase you could go pick up a cumalong they are only like 60$ and that and some chain could save your butt. And i dont know if it is still closed but i went there in April and the mainline and expressways were closed.
Old 05-29-2015, 11:00 AM

thanks for the heads up, I figure im just gonna head out and see how it goes
Old 05-31-2015, 11:39 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0 liter RENIX I-6, DIY Cold Air Intake, 2.5 FM Exhaust, 3 Core Radiator

So how did your trip to Walker Valley, go? The way you describe your Jeep, you should be fine on all trails except Rons Run, Rig Rams and Expressway.
Old 06-05-2015, 10:17 AM

Originally Posted by BuckB91XJ
So how did your trip to Walker Valley, go? The way you describe your Jeep, you should be fine on all trails except Rons Run, Rig Rams and Expressway.