Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Winter problem

Old 02-03-2017, 09:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Winter problem

My 99 xj 4.0 starts on the 1st turn of the key in warm weather, however...during the winter months it will crank between 5-12 times before starting.....this is Only a cold weather issue....I've had the alternator and battery tested, they're both good...
I have all electrical working, fuel pump engages, neutral starting doesn't change anything....once she Does start she's perfect,
no problems until she cools down about halfway and then I have to go through the same thing.....at my wits end here.
I've read other posts saying it's the AIC? Or that I need to install a throttle body spacer? Personally, I'm a carpenter with basic mechanical skills...now that I'm on Disability I can't afford to take her to a shop so please help!?!?
Old 02-03-2017, 09:39 AM
CF Veteran

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

What's the cold cranking amps on the battery? There's a chance that the battery may be too small.
Old 02-03-2017, 10:04 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1992

I vote battery. I had one not even 3 months old, but would hard crank during cold mornings. Got an optima red top, and problem solved
Old 02-03-2017, 10:55 AM
Banned

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 2000 and 1998

[QUOTEit will crank between 5-12 times b][/QUOTE]

sounds like it cranks ok he didnt say its slow??cant blame batt for everything!

ive had my 98 barely turn over,then fire and run good. i dont let them sit long without running full hot in cold weather.
drive daily when real cold.

Last edited by nujeepguy; 02-03-2017 at 11:10 AM.
Old 02-03-2017, 12:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Tony Ternak,