Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Whats your technique for 4WD in the snow?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2018, 02:26 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Whats your technique for 4WD in the snow?

We had a nice snow fall recently and I found making turns a bit sketchy while in Full time 4wd. I'm an accomplished snow driver, although kali weather has spoiled me over time.

I'm running good tread depth GY Wranglers. Speeds are 25-35 mph tops. Yet when negotiating a turn, the back end keeps trying to over-take the front.

Is this a design issue with shortwheel bases?

Are the stock differentials needing an upgrade?

Or do I need to just slow down?
Old 02-25-2018, 04:11 PM
CF Veteran

Received 456 Likes on 369 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee(XJ)

I don't have that problem when in 4x4, try part time instead of full time and see what happens.
Old 02-25-2018, 05:16 PM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1999

Originally Posted by 00t444e
I don't have that problem when in 4x4, try part time instead of full time and see what happens.
x2

also, what specific tire do you have? Goodyears whole lineupof trick/suv tires are wranglers buy each has another name thatfollows. Truthfully, the wrangler lineup is mostly bad, and dependingon the tire you have, that couldbe a partial part of your issue. But trypart time first.
Old 02-25-2018, 05:23 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

Originally Posted by MtnGoat
Yet when negotiating a turn, the back end keeps trying to over-take the front.
Driving too fast and braking too hard.
Just leave it in 2wd till you get stuck then use 4wd to back out. If you get it stuck in 4wd you ain't going nowhere.
Old 02-25-2018, 05:35 PM
CF Veteran

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Year: 01, 99, 98, 98,98