Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

V6 Engine -> V8 engine (and other random Qs)

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 06:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2006
Model: Cherokee
Default V6 Engine -> V8 engine (and other random Qs)

Hello all, big time noob here and first post, so wishing everyone a chill greeting

little bio (skip this paragraph if uninterested) I have a 2006 Cherokee with a v6 engine, had it close to 8 months, and just recently started paying more attention to my baby. Slapped new K&N Air filters, got me some flashy headlights on top of my roof. Also got a JET Performance chip as a gift from my friend which i installed unhesitatingly , aside from that just recently tinted the back seat windows and threw in a new sound system that has an AUX port. So all in all, I see it as just the beginning.

I've been looking at SRT8s for a while now, just drooling over their performance. I'm in love with my car, but would kill for a SRT8 Grand Cherokee, with that said, i was thinking to reach some mid point of agreement and simply get the engine slapped onto my Cherokee. The only main reason is for more power. Is it advisable, if these are my intentions? or am I better off with another alternative?

Also if anyone can direct me to a decent site for lift kits I'd be thankful. Any feedback appreciated.
Old 12-06-2009, 08:49 AM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000
Engine: 4.0

do you live in the UK by chance? since you mention you have an 06 cherokee, i'm assuming you have a KJ, or liberty as badged here in north america.

i've seen some nice libbys with solid axle swap and 37 inch tires, but no hemi swap yet.

for the price of a 6.1L srt hemi, i'd look for a used hennesey grand for a street pounder.

if you do it, you should really start a build thread.
Old 12-06-2009, 08:52 AM