Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Strange "Whump-Whump" Noise coming from DS rear?

Old 07-07-2011, 10:40 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Strange "Whump-Whump" Noise coming from DS rear?

I am new to Jeep and 4x4's. I have a 99' 4.0 Cherokee that has 136K miles. When coming to a stop while breaking-I notice a faint "whump-whump" noise. That's as best as I can describe it. To me it solds like a bad bearing. Is that a common thing to go at that mileage? JC Whitney has the whole shebang for a decent price. I don't want to replace a part if it's not the problem.

I had a Lexus GS400 that had a few thousand dollar put into it to chase down a notorious vibration these cars a plagued with and nothing helped. The Lexus dealer started guess at the problem after nothing worked (I did the whole front suspension work myself, but used them as a consultant only) and I sold the car. I love this Jeep and want to methodically tracy down the problem. I haven't put the truck on jackstands to check the bearing, but if it passes the normal test for bearings (where you grab the tires and push-pull from the 9-3 and 12-6 positions) does that mean it's NOT the bearing? Thanks for your help!

http://www.jcwhitney.com/wheel-hub-a...DetailTabPanel
Old 07-07-2011, 10:46 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1994
Engine: 4.0 L/242 CID I-6 High Output MFI

There could be something going on with the rear brakes. When you have it jacked up, make sure you closely inspect the brake drum and shoes for any oddities, like glazed surfaces or bad spots on the pads. Hell, take it to Les Schwab and the brake check is free.

That's what I would check first.

Rob
Old 07-07-2011, 11:10 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1998