Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Short to ground

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 10:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Short to ground

I have been chasing electrical problems on my 96 XJ for a few years now. I have O2 sensor issued on the downstream side with the heater circuit CEL intermittently. I started chasing grounds. I noticed that all my grounds were reading about 3 ohms or more fromthe neg batter terminal to the various gnds on the car. I disconnected the battery terminals and saw the same thing. There should be no connection between the pos and neg battery cables. Started isolating then by pulling fuses inthe PDC until it went to an open line. I have my meter on the pos and neg battery cables with battery disconnected for the test. The 20 Amp fuse in the PDC was pulled and I got and open line. That fuse controls the fuse panel in the car. I started pulling fuses inside the car until I got an open line and no luck. Something must be shorted between the PDC and the inside fuse panel I am assuming. Any thoughts. No fuses blown. Car runs. I do have flickering interior lights at idle.
Old 04-19-2017, 11:41 AM
Banned

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 2000 and 1998
Engine: 4.0

ohm

Last edited by nujeepguy; 04-22-2017 at 12:33 PM.
Old 04-19-2017, 11:59 AM

With the battery disconnected, all my grounds ring to the neg battery terminal correctly (about .003 ohms). When the battery is connected, my resistance goes up to about 8 ohms when I put one lead on the ground point on the frame or engine block and the other on the neg battery terminal. I traced it to the underhood lamp. When I remove the bulb the readings go normal. There are bulbs everywhere on the car. Why does this one bulb cause this? This small short is causing all sorts of small anomalies. Have you ever heard of this before?