Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-14-2015, 04:53 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Engine Problems by Sympton
Print Wikipost

Serpentine belt slipping pls help

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2015, 09:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Serpentine belt slipping pls help

Over the last 6 months my belt has slipped at least 10 times on my 99 xj. Needless to say im a pro belt changer now. Regardless im ready to drive my xj into a tree. Ive been damn good to her and im at my end here. Ive tried and tried to research jt to no avail. From what i gather it might be the crank pulley or harmonic balancer? But when i look at that it doesnt appear to be wobbling very much. However the place where the belt slips is right at the fan pulley. The belt will literally ride halfway on the fan pulley. I read it could be the fan clutch somewhere i think and i read to test it you spin the fan by hand if it doesnt stop spinning right away it could be bad. But mine stop right away.
Old 04-21-2015, 06:19 PM

Im thinking it could also be some bearings inside the fan assembly? I Would really appreciate any input as i am very frustrated with this issue.
Old 04-21-2015, 06:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1988
Engine: 4.0

Make sure that you have the belt tensioned properly and maybe try some squeal-reducing belt dressing.

It is also possible to put the belt on improperly and still have it fit. Verify that you have the belt looping through the pulleys properly. That is what it sounds like has happened based on your statement that the fan pulley is only half on.
Old 04-21-2015, 11:41 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: Golen 4.6L

Originally Posted by Danzig