Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Sadly, good bye Jeep. Need some ideas

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2010, 09:37 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I-6 4.0 HO
Default Sadly, good bye Jeep. Need some ideas

So, I am selling my 91 XJ Laredo soon... SO I can buy a new XJ! The previous owner really screwed me over with some suprises that are starting to surface, and being a college student I cant afford to fix them nor afford my DD to break down. So I need I some advice.

I want an XJ with the high output 4.0 and automatic AW4. I want one that is still failry easy to work on, and not crazy advanced. AND ONE WITH R-134a AIR CONDITIONING lol. I was thinking about a 1996 or 1999. What do you guys think?
Old 06-27-2010, 09:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L high output

if you are looking simple. i would stay in the 94-95 range, only because it is before OBDII. so the computer system isn't as advanced. also, you will still have wires and a distributor, instead of the single coil pack. all in all, just easier to work on, if thats what you are looking for.
Old 06-27-2010, 09:48 PM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L

Originally Posted by xjkid92
if you are looking simple. i would stay in the 94-95 range, only because it is before OBDII. so the computer system isn't as advanced. also, you will still have wires and a distributor, instead of the single coil pack. all in all, just easier to work on, if thats what you are looking for.
The difference between the computer tech on 0bd1 vs. obd2, is mainly the emissions crap. Nothing a chip and tune can't fix. My 99 has wires and distributor. Very easy to work on. Anything is easy to work on when you have some sort of mechanical skills. ( not saying you don't)