Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Rough idle and poor gas milage, related?!

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2015, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Rough idle and poor gas milage, related?!

1997 4.0 XJ with 150K miles bone stock!

Recent rig into our family and first time jeep owners, but having fun and the kids love it!

Fuel mileage is 10-12 mpg for city driving and I am a conservative driver! My wife isn't..and that's why we get 10 mpg sometimes!

Recent plugs, air filter, O2 (upstream), tested the MAP and it performed close to perfect, sprayed around the vacuum hoses and no change in engine load, starts right up and no funny shut-down backfire, etc. Decent running rig other than being a noisy 4.0 when cold and.....

...my odd idle issue. Idle issue is fairly identical to this guy's post on YouTube. He claims it was the CPS and I'm not saying it isn't, but I'm looking for every excuse not to pull it out, b/c it looks like a pain!

Could this rough idle be associated with fuel milage? I'd think yes, b/c the jeep would be firing at the wrong time.

I was thinking of checking timing on cyl 1 with my timing light and maybe even adjusting the distributor a little to see if it responded well.

A fairly new XJ owner looking for XJ advice. Thanks.
Old 05-21-2015, 04:42 PM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Hawks
1997 4.0 XJ with 150K miles bone stock!

Recent rig into our family and first time jeep owners, but having fun and the kids love it!

Fuel mileage is 10-12 mpg for city driving and I am a conservative driver! My wife isn't..and that's why we get 10 mpg sometimes!