Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Replacing the flexplate without dropping the transmission.

Old 03-22-2012, 07:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6 Power Tech Engine (High Output)
Arrow Replacing the flexplate without dropping the transmission.

I have read a few threads where people have talked about replacing the flexplate without dropping the tranny. They said something about just sliding the tranny back, using some longer grade 8 mounting bolts. Is this possible? If so, can somone please tell me what to do, or link me to a write-up that details how to do this. I really dont want to drop the transmission if I don't have to, as I have never done it before and I have no idea what to do.

I recently tightened the flexplate to torque converter bolts (a link to the write-up is in my signature), but sure enough the knocking is back, and getting worse. I inspected the plate for cracks when I tightened the bolts and found none, But I suspect that one of my bolts was so loose for so long that the hole had elongated. There may also be cracks that I could not see as they may have been too small for me to notice, and it was getting late when I was looking.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 03-22-2012, 08:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L

There is no "sliding" the transmission back to get to the flexplate. To get it back far enough to do the flexplate you dropping the transmission- no way around that.

Remove driveshafts, remove shifter linkage, unplug wiring harnesses, secure tranny jack to tranny, remove bolt from engine to transmission, and remove trans cross member.

Its a lot of work but still easier than removing the engine.
Old 03-22-2012, 08:22 PM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998 classic
Engine: 4.0!!

Buy some ear plugs