Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Please Cherokee masters... Bless me with you knowledge!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2018, 09:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Engine: 4.0L L6 OHV 12V
Exclamation Please Cherokee masters... Bless me with you knowledge!!!!

Please! I need opinions!

I bought a beautiful 2000 cherokee sport 2wd stock (except headlights) with 155k this thursday from a used car lot (I know, I know) but I needed a car asap and it looked to be in amazing condition... (I am not a mechanic but I used what I knew and it looked good to me).

5 days later I go to pick my son up from school and I hear squealing and I see black smoke along with a burning rubber smell. I look and the serpentine belt isnt turning. I turn the Jeep off and called the tow truck and took it to a mechanic.

They called me today and told me that the AC compressor locked up and needs to be flushed and replaced.
I was told: the compressor by itself was a 600$-700$ part but they could get it for 400$ from georgia by tomorrow.
They said they need to replace a belt and the freon plus the 2 hours of labor this will cost me a little less then 800$ total.

Is this a fair price considering I cant fix it myself and I dont know anyone that works on jeep/chrysler/dodges??

Is it worth it to repair assuming that there are no other major issues??

Is this a common problem with this car?

Any advice or knowledge helps!

THANK YOU

**I have no pics of the engine sorry**
Old 02-28-2018, 09:13 PM

*bump*
Old 02-28-2018, 09:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 482 Likes on 413 Posts
Year: 1986
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.3L with headers and full 3" exhaust system

For AC work and replacing a compressor, yes it is a fair price
Old 02-28-2018, 10:53 PM

Red face

Originally Posted by 4.3L XJ