Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Noise coming from the front end.

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2011, 11:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4L L6
Default Noise coming from the front end.

So I just bought a 96 cherokee sport, 4x4 for $800. runs great and really love this Rig. But it started making loud roar form the front left. I replaced the bearing and that helped. but its still making noise just drives smother. When I was pulling the bearing/hub unit the shaft came with it, which is normal for this car because the hub is the only thing holding it in. My concern though is that when the shaft was out some gear oil leaked out (as i did see some come out), and that it might be the gears in the front axel making the noise.

Im a mechine mechanic so I work on gear boxes, but Im new to jeeps and wanted to get some advice. What do you all think?

Last edited by Jlovekamp; 11-28-2011 at 11:21 AM. Reason: bad typing
Old 11-28-2011, 12:05 PM

Engine: 4.0L

Go fill it, I need to do the same thing. Now how about we both try it and post our results after. Mine makes a sort of grind/vibration. Im worried when I pulled my front hub recently that my axleshaft may have fallen out of its socket. Of course I put it back in, and it works in 4lo and 4high so I know its connected, but it makes noise and hesitates/grinds/vibrates. About to change ALL fluids.
Old 11-29-2011, 11:16 PM

Originally Posted by sandfish88
Go fill it, I need to do the same thing. Now how about we both try it and post our results after. Mine makes a sort of grind/vibration. Im worried when I pulled my front hub recently that my axleshaft may have fallen out of its socket. Of course I put it back in, and it works in 4lo and 4high so I know its connected, but it makes noise and hesitates/grinds/vibrates. About to change ALL fluids.