Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

No Blower Motor and Temp not registering

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2018, 10:12 AM
mwj

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Default No Blower Motor and Temp not registering

Good Morning all. I have 1993 XJ Sport 4.0l. I recently did a clutch job, rear main, oil pan, 3 inch lift, and changed all the fluids. After all was said and done I took it for a drive and noticed the temp gauge wasn't registering. The fans are working and the car didn't get too hot. I also noticed that the blower motor is suddenly inop. The rest of the gauges work just fine. I am guessing a wire is the culprit. I would have searched, but at midnight on a Sunday, I was too tired. Anyway, I tried to use the search feature and didn't see anything on the forums, I am a noob here so be kind. Anyone out there have an idea of where to start looking? I am assuming with all the pulling and shifting on the motor and trans, something got pulled out, I just don't know where to look. Thanks!!
Old 04-16-2018, 11:56 AM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 99 94
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: I6

93 has a temp sender on the drivers side towards the rear of the head.
The blower motor resistor might have failed.
Old 04-16-2018, 01:31 PM
CF Veteran

Received 234 Likes on 207 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L

Originally Posted by MonacaYankee
93 has a temp sender on the drivers side towards the rear of the head.
The blower motor resistor might have failed.
I could see the temp sensor wires getting pulled when turning the engine downward. If I remember correctly there wasn't much slack in the wires on that. That would be the first thing I'd check. (And I'll have to make a note to disconnect mine when I do my clutch in the next few weeks).