Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

new to xj's

Old 07-13-2013, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 1996 4.0L
Default new to xj's

Hello all, I was hoping I could get a little help. I am new to Jeep's and XJ's and am trying to do some maintenance/deal with cooling issues on my XJ. I have a 92 cherokee with a 96 motor in it 4.0L motor. The Motor was put in my the previous owner. The engine runs way hot according to the gauge it normally sits in the 220-240 range. The previous owner told me he checked it with a infrared thermometer and everything showed about 20 degrees cooler than what the gauge showed. So I am doing the normal cherokee maintenance stuff, new water pump, new thermostat, new fan clutch, new electric fan. I was given a better radiator that i will put in it and flush the cooling system. Am I missing anything on this list?

Next question, since the motor is a 96 and the Cherokee is a 92 are the temperature sending units the same or do I need a 92 sending unit in the 96 motor.

Next. this Motor has a sending unit on the thermostat housing but what I am reading in the Haynes manual (i know they aren't great but its all i could find) i picked up says the sending unit is on the back left ( i assume drivers side of motor since i can see one there).

last question for now: I power washed the motor to make it a little nicer to work on and now i have a check engine light. I went through everything and i don't seem to have knocked a wire off. On 92 Jeeps what does the check engine light signal is wrong? This way I might have a way tracing out what wire is wet or loose.

Normally I am working on my '01 ford 7.3 diesel. I decided to get something that was a little cheaper to play with so hopefully i am not in too far over my head with this jeep.

Thanks a bunch in advance.