Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Looking into some XJs . . . Have some tech questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2012, 11:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Looking into some XJs . . . Have some tech questions

There is a 99 and 98 XJ that I'm going to be looking at tomorrow. I'm very new to this whole thing so I'm hoping for a sort of down and dirty on what to look for.

I'm good with the overall condition but I've read a few things about rear axles and what not. I've also heard that about mid-way through 98 they did a drive train change and I should avoid those models on. I've also been told that with later models there are issues with fluids leaking?

There really isn't a question in this post - more just a request for knowledge . . . I apologize for being so vague but it's hard when you don't really know what to ask.
Old 09-07-2012, 12:46 AM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

IMHO 98-99 are among the better XJ years in that they had most things sorted out pretty well.
The standard inspection routine should be good- check for fluid leaks, odd noises or vibrations in 2 or 4WD, good shifts, no oil in the air cleaner box, no water in the oil or oil in the water, soot in the tailpipe, signs of fluids spitting out the dipstick or breather...no evidence of codes having been cleared right before you showed up, lol. (bring your scanner) no Lucas fixit bottles laying around....
Check underneath for rust too if appropriate.

Planning on wheeling it, or just on the road driving? Other folks may have ideas on what to look for in terms of offroad longevity.
Old 09-07-2012, 01:25 AM
Cherokee Forum Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post