Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Lifting my '95 jeep cherokee 4x4..please help

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2010, 12:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Lifting my '95 jeep cherokee 4x4..please help

i wanna lift my 1995 cherokee 4.5" dont really know anything about lifting
-http://rubiconexpress.com/SuspensionSystems/Product.aspx?part=RE6130
if i bought this what else would i need? and what shocks would be best for a smoother ride?
i dont plan on doing that much offroading... mainly just DD
SYE & CV Driveshaft <---i know these are recommended can someone post links ..what do they do?
*thanks,sorry bout all the questions....im new to all of this
Old 03-27-2010, 01:10 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

That's a great kit. My first lift on my XJ was a Rubicon Express 3" and I loved it. However, I would recommend upgrading to the adjustable control arms, because at 4.5" of lift it makes it much easier to dial in the alignment with the adjustable arms. As for shocks, the DT 3000's are considered more of a budget shock, but that's what I had with my 3" and they actually rode pretty good. But if you're really looking for a great ride both on and offroad, I would go with OME shocks. Stay away from the RE monotubes, I've seen a lot of problems/complaints on the forums with those shocks lately.

Here's a couple links to some good slip yoke eliminator kits;

Tom is a great guy and will take very good care of you. He can hook you up with both the SYE kit and new rear driveshaft. His shafts are considered some of the BEST on the market.

http://www.4xshaft.com/index.html

JB's kits are also very good, have one of theirs on mine.

http://www.jbconversions.com/product...1j_std_sye.php

OH - and WELCOME TO CF. Make sure to post up an intro in the Introduction Forum.