Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Let's talk boots

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2018, 08:31 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Let's talk boots

I replaced my CPS today and while I was under the Jeep I decided to grease up everything as well. I noticed most of my ball joint boots were cracked, along with the boots for my drag link ends and one end of my tie rod.

Let's say my ball joints are all still perfectly functional. What brands of boots do you guys recommend for replacement? Or would you just bite the bullet and replace the ball joints since they could have been compromised by an assortment of debris?
​​​​​​
Morris 4x4 makes a synthetic ball joint boot that looks like good quality. $10 for upper and lower. Any other suggestions or recommendations? Im new to Jeeps and 4x4s in general.
Old 11-27-2018, 09:21 AM

Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

energy suspension makes them for around 6.99 a pair
Old 11-27-2018, 09:36 AM
CF Veteran

Received 234 Likes on 207 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L

With the work required to put boots on the ball joints, you'd be out of your mind to not replace the ball joints. Unless you have some super high end joints on there and know for sure they are in excellent condition, it's only a little extra work to press out the old joints and press new ones in.
You can get new joints for $30-ish each for a quality brand or only a little more for Spicer OEM. I believe you can get Spicer knurled joints if the old ones are not the original.
Old 11-27-2018, 11:35 AM

Originally Posted by PatHenry