Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Instrument Panel not working, PLEASE HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 12:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Exclamation Instrument Panel not working, please help

O.k., this is my first time I ever have posted on this site, or ever in my life. So if I have made an error by just making a new thread, then lecture me so I can learn, but I am in need of help. I currently own a 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport, 4.0l V6 2x4.

After a little mix up I had when I ignorantly flipped my electric cables on my battery (by putting negative to positive and vise versa), I blew out some fuses and busted my alternator. So I recently replaced my alternator, checked out a couple of fuses and swapped out my alternator fuse and one other, then I checked my interior fuses and replaced some, but all except for one and it may or may not be the fuse that helps the instrument cluster (I have no owners manual for it, there are no instructions on what fuse is what because there is nothing but an open fuse box under my steering wheel, and I can't really find a descent diagram online that will help me out). But every time we put a new fuse in, it just bursts and destroys the fuse upon impact.

To sum it up: Alternator replaced, battery as well, some fuses replaced, one fuse has an incredible short, all other electronics work fine (Head lights, rear lights, turn signals, radio, a/c, etc.) and dandy except for my instrument cluster doesn't work at all. I'll be looking for some short wires and such, but if anybody can help I'd really appreciate it..

Last edited by chuckfinley; 07-21-2014 at 01:35 AM. Reason: Corrections need to be made
Old 07-21-2014, 01:03 AM
CF Veteran

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 2015, 2012
Model: Grand Cherokee (WK2)
Engine: 3.6L