Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

I'm lost - need suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2016, 12:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default I'm lost - need suggestions

Hello everyone. I'm at the end of my rope with a rough idle issue with a 2000 Cherokee 4.0l. I'm new to Jeeps but not new to mechanics. I've been working on cars since I was a kid. Not an expert by any means but I know my way around.

Here are the symptoms:

When I first start the jeep, it has a mild misfire. You can feel it a little (not much) and you can hear and feel it at the exhaust. Put it in gear, it gets a little worse but still not bad. It runs very rich the whole time.