Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Hi Beam Light Problem Kicking My Butt

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 09:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Hi Beam Light Problem Kicking My Butt

Hi folks, newbie here again, just wanted to make sure everything works thanks.

I have a 98 Cherokee XJ, 4.0, 4-speed auto w/od, 322,000 on the odometer, still going strong but with a hi beam problem that is kicking my butt.

This is what it is doing; With my headlight switch on, beam select switch in high beam or flash, my hi beam indicator light in dash is ON, but my hi beam lights are off. If I disconnect the drivers side headlight and headlight switch is on and beam select switch is in (hi beam and/or flash) I measure 12VDC at the hi beam socket (connects to back of headlight) to ground and the hi beam indicator is ON.

The things that are new; Headlight switch, beam select switch, both headlights (with the longer terminals), both headlight sockets that plug into the back of the headlights. Both new headlights tested directly to battery as good.

Additional troubleshooting I have done;
Cut the two feed lines( Hi beam and low beam) going into the fuse/junction block (passenger side kick panel) and spliced the lo beam side(Violet/white) into the high beam side(red/orange), turned on the headlights, beam select on low, and my high beams came on. The problem appears to be before fuse/junction block so I disconnected my temporary splice and hooked the lo beam side back up like normal. Red/orange wire is still cut for high side.