Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help! 04 GC Cranks/No start/fuel smell in engine

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2018, 08:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Help! 04 GC Cranks/No start/fuel smell in engine

Hello! Glad there is a forum out here like this! This is my first time posting here.
I have a 2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 w/approx 185k miles on it.
The issue started a few months ago when I was driving on the freeway and all of sudden the speedometer, RPM & gas guages started going crazy! The gas guage went all the way down to E & at the same time it started sputtering and losing acceleration. As I stepped on the gas it would not accelerate & kept sputtering. I pulled over & shut it off not knowing what the hell that was. After a few minutes I restarted it and drove home & everything seemed normal,

When I got home I researched this online and found that it could be numerous things including the throttle postion sensor & fuel filter. So I asked a few friends about it & they were saying it's probably the fuel filter or fuel pump.
When I called a shop they wanted almost $300 to replace the fuel filter & even more for the pump. I said "F" that I'll figure out how to do it myself. I am not mechanically inclined but I am very handy with many other things so I went on youtube and watched a video on how to replace the fuel filter. I watched the fuel pump video as well but that is something I don't feel comfortable with replacing myself so I figured I would put in the fuel filter.
It was a pain in the *** but I replaced it. I took it for a test drive & all seemed fine. Just as I was giving myself a pat on the back it started doing the same damn thing again! Ugh!
So that wasn't the issue but it needed to be replaced anyway.